Surf video analysis sessions with the girls in Santa Teresa

videoanalysisI have been really lucky to be involved in the video analysis training sessions with all the girls here in Santa Teresa. Once a week, they all meet up at 6am on the beach and film for two hours with Martin, a fantastic surf coach from the UK who has kindly offered up his time to help the surfer girls in Teresa really progress and push their surfing to the next level. In the evening everyone gets together and the video footage is projected on a large wall so that the girls have front row seats of their morning waves. Martin explains in detail exactly where improvements can be made, and demonstrates key techniques.

Video analysis can make a massive improvement to your surfing skills and rapidly increase your learning curve. I can’t think of a better or more productive way to get better at surfing quickly. Even though at times it can feel humiliating watching yourself surf haha, the amount of important and valuable information you take away from one video analysis session will have you seeing results after day one; it’s incredible. A great piece of advice is to watch your video just before you go out surfing so it’s fresh in your mind exactly what you need to work on. You can also write on your hand, or stick masking tape on your board with key words to constantly remind you of what you should be focusing on whilst you are in the water 🙂

After session number one, my key word from Martin was HOLD. What he wanted me to concentrate on was to hold my body positioning for a second longer to help drive through my bottom turn and through my roundhouse cutback. On the cutback, this means holding the rotation in my shoulders for a fraction longer so I come back up the wave higher and rebound off the white water, creating more speed to enter the next section. On my bottom turn, holding the rotation and looking up at the lip will help me to enter the wave more vertically (judges love this in contests!).

I was stoked today to get this shot from Antonio Russo this morning. Having been given the advice the day before from Martin, I went out there with one thing on my mind which was to hold through my bottom turn and try to get more vertical and boom, it actually worked! I am so so stoked and super pumped for my next video analysis session on Monday! Yewwwwww
65069_507644962601030_194520553_n

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

